27
Aug
15

Collecting seeds

In this post, I will touch upon how to collect seeds from flowers, some successes of projects initiated last month, and results of harvests.

First, any time you get hold of a marigold, dahlia or zinnia, just allow it to dry completely. Then follow the sequence of photos below to collect seeds for sowing next spring.

image image
image image

 

image image

image

Zinnia

Clockwise top to bottom: 1) Dry flower 2) Gently pull out petal one by one 3) At the end of the petal is the arrowhead seed. Cut off unwanted part of petals and collect seeds in a paper bag.

image image

Dahlia

This is similar to the Zinnia. Let the flowers dry out fully. Pull out the petals one by one gently. The arrow head at the bottom of the petal is the seed. Save the seeds in a paper bag and store in the refrigerator.

Morning glory too gives out a large number of seeds when the flowers dry out. You need to collect the seed pod from the plant. Each pod may contain 3-6 seeds.

Next time you see any of these flowers in the dry state, don’t throw them away. Take them home and collect the seeds. Store in the fridge, and when spring comes, sow them.

 

Some results of my experimental projects

Here are some successes:

image

Small oranges

Out of about seven cuttings from an orange tree (thanks, Utiyama-san), four of the cuttings rooted. Some of them bore white flowers – it was amazing to see plants with no new leaves but with flowers.

I am hoping that at least two of the four will survive the forthcoming winter and grow to give oranges in the future.

image

 

 

Sapota

I had brought with me Sapota seeds from India last May and planted them in small pots. About seven of them have successfully germinated and are growing well. I’m not sure whether they will survive the winter – I’ll place them in a home-made hot house. It took nearly two months for the seeds to germinate. The growth also seems to be slow – after more than three months, new leaves have started appearing.

I have no idea whether these will grow to yield my favorite ‘chikoos’ but I’ll do my best to keep them alive and kicking!

 

 

image

Pineapple

Another experimental project (see previous blog post). I had cut out the top of a pineapple and planted it about a month earlier. New leaves have started appearing from the center.

 

image

Mexican mango

The Mexican mango seed I had planted last month (see previous blog post) delighted me by throwing out new leaves.  I do not expect mangoes, but it will be fun watching it grow!

 

Harvests until now

Although season is not yet over, let’s see how I have fared since I planted the veggies after reaching Japan in May. Here is a table that gives the score:

Vegetable/Fruit Home Garden Office Garden Total
Tomato (large+small) 115 78 193
Cucumber 60 13 73
Eggplant 60 20 80
Green pepper 55 55
Beans 224 224
Okra 13 13
Corn 3 3
Small radish 31 31
Green chilli 65 65
Coriander Harvested 4 times 4
Malkheiya Harvested 6 times 6
Figs 35 35
Water melon 1 1

As the numbers speak for themselves, I tasted some degree of success with tomato, beans, eggplant, cucumber, green pepper, and green chilli. Okhra, corn and water melon harvest was lackluster. I failed miserably with Eda mame. Peanuts are still growing; so are eggplant and okhra. I hope to harvest peanuts in autumn.

Finally, here are some flowers and fruits growing presently in my garden.

image

Wisteria

The growing season is already over, but because of my incessant pruning, the tree has produced flowers quite late. The flowers above bloomed beginning of August.

image

Ginger lily

Undeniably, my favorite flower. Pleasant, strong aroma – I cut them and place them in flower vases all over my house. I plan to propagate more of these and dot them all around the periphery of my house.

image

Formosan Lily or Mountain Lily

This flower grows all over my garden come summer. I do nothing – the plant grows wild, flowers bloom in summer and the plant disappears to appear somewhere else next summer. A gift from God.

 

image

Hibiscus

This blood-red Hibiscus flower has just started blooming after overwintering. The plant was gifted to my by my friend Toyama-san last year. It spent the winter within my house. I brought it out in May, and flowers have finally bloomed in August, the middle of summer.

image

Hosta

image

Fig tree

The fig tree is the gem in my garden. It has given a lot of figs this year; since August, I pick about 2 figs a day on an average. Delicious –see photo below.

image

Figs from my home garden

All for now – until the next post, Happy Gardening!

2 Responses to “Collecting seeds”


  1. 1 vpkumar
    August 28, 2015 at 5:09 am

    Guru,
    REal professional work!

  2. August 31, 2015 at 5:01 pm

    Thanks, Pradeep. Your daughter may be interested in this post – kindly pass it on to her.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 135,354 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

