25
Apr
15

revisiting my balcony garden in bangalore

I am in Bangalore, India, since the last four months. When I returned, my potted plants watered by the watchmen at the apartment where I stay  were in bad shape. Over these four months, with tender loving care, I have brought them back to good health! In the meanwhile, I visited Lalbagh on Independence day and came across some glorious flowers! Here are some samples.

 

image

 

image

image

Flowers forming the Red Fort in New Delhi

 

image CIMG1123

    

Fruit plants on sale were tempting, but since I was to stay for a short period, I resisted

 

CIMG1108

Shanka Pushpa or Butterfly Pea

I’m growing them for the first time – I like the shape. They grow profusely and also yield seeds, which I plan to take to Japan.

image

Jasmine – star shaped and delicate aroma!

Before the second spurt of flowers in this plant, monkeys plucked off the buds and threw them away! Pure mischief.

image

Closeup of the jasmine

image

Periwinkle

These flowers grow profusely in March/April in Bangalore. Miss a day’s water and the leaves curl up – water them immediately and they are healthy again.

image

I got bulbs of the lovely pink flower from Japan and planted them here. I forget the name – Zachyrantes or similar sounding name; this spelling did not give me any hits on the net.

 

image

Bougainvillea

Just started turning red. I expect several more bunches of red at the corner of my balcony over the next few months.

 

image

Plumeria

I grew this plumeria from seed, but I’m going to give it away to a good home. Let it grow big and yield beautiful aromatic flowers!

 

image

Aloe Vera

A friend recommended the gel from this plant as after shave, and by golly, it is good. I plan to grow this in Japan as well, and make natural shampoo out of it.

 

All for now! I have to pack and leave for Japan. The next post will be from Japan.

Have a great day!

Technorati Tags: ,,
0 Responses to “revisiting my balcony garden in bangalore”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 135,909 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Dec   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

