18
Jul
14

growing fruits in my home garden

Why am I writing this blog? I’d like to introduce some of you the pleasures of growing organic vegetables and flowers/fruits; additionally, the photos and dates in this blog serve as valuable reference for me when I plant again next year; and the bonus of course, is make new friends who write from all over the world. About 35 persons from various countries read this blog in one day, and I’m especially happy when somebody puts in a kind word through comments (do you see a bubble and the words “Leave your comment” just below the title? Just click on it and you can leave a comment for me while reading this blog).

I have several fruit trees in my home garden. These include fig, peach, blueberry,  persimmon, Hassaku orange, and melon at various stages of growth. In this post, I will write about melons. But first, some photos of flowers in bloom or have just started blooming.

image

Now in bloom – Plumbago

image

Yesterday, today and tomorrow – the chameleon-like scented flower has started blooming

Here are some photos of veggies – I thought it would be interesting to do a before-and-after comparison. So the first photo shows what the vegetable plants looked like when just planted and when they were fully matured – the cucumber plants are almost over and are likely to be removed soon.

Bell pepper

Bell pepper just planted May first week

image

Bell pepper in full growth – July second week

Tomatoes

Tomato plants – May first week

image

Tomato plants – July 2nd week; nearly two meters tall

Eggplant

Eggplant or brinjal plants – May 2nd week

image

Eggplant or brinjal plants – July 2nd week; about 1 meter tall and still growing

Cucumber

Cucumber plants – May 1st week

image

The same cucumber plants in July 2nd week – nearly 2 m tall and time to go

Lessons learned from growing these four kinds of vegetables this year

1. Remove leaves and branches at the base, especially cucumber leaves that deteriorate quickly,  as early as possible

2. Snip off new branches that appear between stem and branch early so that tomato plants grow tall quickly

3. Expect tomato and cucumber plants to grow to nearly 2 meters. Snip off the main stem at the top to restrict vertical growth.

4. Tomato plants can be propagated very easily by taking the snipped off branches and planting them in fresh soil. (Click on this link to see the earlier post how to multiply tomato plants).

5. Eggplants could be propagated the same way through cuttings, but it was a little harder to do so.

6. Grow the plants at a different location next year.

7. Use root accelerator such as Root-On to promote propagation from cuttings, and use  plastic to cover eggplant cuttings fresh inserted in pots for propagation. This will give humidity and promote growth of roots.

8. Keep off ants from eggplant especially when the eggplants are young (don’t use chemicals or pesticide). Just drive them off everyday – they’ll get tired and relocate!

Water melon seeds

I was in Bangalore, India, until February and carefully saved seeds from a water melon I had eaten. I brought them over to Japan and planted them sometime in June. And fortunately, quite a few sprouted!

image

Water melon saplings

I gave some to my friends Toyama-san and Uchiyama-san. I hope their water melon plants are doing as well as mine below.

image

Water melon plant in planter

Yes, I am growing it in a deep planter. I will rig up a kind of hammock to support the water melon when it appears! Watch out for future posts. Exciting to grow an Indian water melon in Japan!

Lastly, here are some photos of daily harvests in the last week.

image image
image image

Daily harvests

Until the next post, have a great day!

1 Response to “growing fruits in my home garden”


  1. July 18, 2014 at 3:56 pm

    My day is made. By accident I arrived at your blog. Amazing to see your passion. Keep it up.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,671 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

