26
Jun
11

Yoga, fragrant flowers and squirrels

The title just about sums up my trip to India (off the working hours). My deputation to India this time was for a period of 18 days in New Delhi. Although New Delhi was steaming at a staggering 42 degrees Celsius when I landed there on June 5, I set off every morning at 6 am to a heavenly park about 5 minutes away from my hotel . Here is an early morning scene on the way to the park:

DSCF0149

Early morning scene from hotel to park in New Delhi

The park was situated in a quiet and rich residential area and it seemed to be in an altogether different world in the midst of bustling New Delhi. Huge palatial houses surrounded by verdant trees and flowers and guarded by watchmen. No noise except for the sweet calls of koels, and sometimes from a protesting call from a peacock.

DSCF0199

Joggers walking to the park (on the left)

Kids playing badminton, youngsters walking around the path in the park, middle-aged persons with bulging tummies and spritely old men forming a “Laughter Club” and several others practicing Yoga – you could find them all in this lovely park early morning.

DSCF0202

Neat pathways and trees and flowers in abundance in the park

The pathway led to some wonderful fragrant spots thanks to a bunch of plumeria trees.

Plumeria in Maharani Bag

Fragrant Plumeria flowers

Each time you passed by these trees,  a sweet fragrant smell would make you happy. I felt like walking faster so that I would reach the same spot again and smell the flowers.

DSCF0233

Closeup of the Plumeria (called “Champa” in New Delhi)

I found these flowers all over New Delhi. I have a plant at my house in Japan too. I grow it in a planter; in winter, it is too cold and the plant sheds all its leaves and goes to sleep. In spring I water it and the leaves come up . Growth is rather slow and I have yet to see flowers in my Plumeria in Japan.

DSCF0220

Another view of the park showing some elderly people in the Laughter Club and another person in a Yoga posture

It is in this park that I plonked myself on the grass every morning and went through my Yoga ritual for about 30 minutes. The moment I closed my eyes to perform deep breathing exercises, I could hear nothing but birds. What a wonderful feeling in the midst of a metropolis!

I also came upon various flowers and birds – and was lucky to get two hornbills in my camera.

DSCF0214

A  pair of hornbills high up in a tree

I was also lucky to shoot a photo of pigeons, squirrels and parrots all partaking the early morning meal of grains dispersed by a kind soul.

DSCF0216

Parrots, squirrels and pigeons sharing a meal

DSCF0217

Parrots and squirrels coexisting peacefully

Made me happy to see various creatures coexisting in peace and harmony. Wish humans would too!

In addition to Plumeria, I found various other flowers within and outside the park such as bougainvillea, laburnum, jasmine, and so on.

Here are some that I clicked in and outside the park:

DSCF0227 DSCF0234
DSCF0209 DSCF0203

Assorted flowers in and around the park

All told, I think I performed my work in New Delhi more efficiently, thanks to the daily dose of Yoga amid fragrant flowers, birds and squirrels and a wonderful environment!

Until the next post, happy gardening!

11 Responses to “Yoga, fragrant flowers and squirrels”


  1. 1 Anita
    June 26, 2011 at 5:55 am

    You got some very nice shots of the birds. Didn’t know one could spot Hornbills in a Delhi park.

    • June 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

      I was surprised to find a kite too in the background of the same photo. Couldn’t see it through naked eyes but the camera has capture him!

      • 3 Anita
        June 29, 2011 at 8:37 pm

        And look at me. I didn’t spot it until you mentioned it. I thought that the Kite was another Hornbill.

  2. June 26, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I love to read about your experiences in Japan. I shall be back.

  3. June 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Look forward to your visits. Thanks for dropping by.

  4. June 28, 2011 at 11:54 am

    What beautiful striped squirrels! Ours are only all grey or all black.

    • June 29, 2011 at 4:05 pm

      A mythical story has it that Lord Rama thanked the squirrel for helping build a bridge to Lanka by stroking/ patting the back of the squirrel with his fingers and that’s how the squirrel got his stripes!

  5. 8 Kevin
    July 3, 2011 at 1:10 am

    Gardening and yoga as a basis for energetic and focused translation work. You should do a talk on that at an IJET. I really think you’re onto something good there. I’ve missed my yoga for the last two days because I’m on “holiday,” but my body and mind are both yelling in agreement, telling me to get back into it. As always, inspired by your blog.

    • July 3, 2011 at 3:02 am

      Hi Kevin, thanks for dropping by. Incidentally, I just finished harvesting eda-mame (about 16 plants). They were so good that I have planted another 20! It was edamame that got me on the gardening track about 16 years ago. Have a great day!

  6. 10 Suguna
    July 13, 2011 at 1:03 am

    The photographs taken in New Delhi is wonderful.Hats off to you. I feel very happy to watch the Hornbills on a tree.Very clear picture of parrots, squirrels and pigeons are worth watching. Snow white Plumeria with yellow in the middle is a mild scented flowers which are beautiful. Happy gardening.

    Suguna
    July,13,2011


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 135,826 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

