27
May
11

Home garden blooms

Since this year, I have tried to grow only flowers and fruits in my home garden and moved the veggies to my office garden.  A small plot with salad leaves and leftovers from the office garden still remains. But first, let’s go to the blooms.

003A

Geranium

These geraniums are the permanent feature of my garden. They take care of themselves – no water, minimal care (like removing deadheads), and they bloom profusely year after year.

 

Next, here are the irises. Thanks to my good friend, Utiyama-san, who gave me some irises last year; they have responded splendidly!

006 007

Irises

I’m planning to add some different colors this year – so next year promises to be exciting!

This May has been the month of the rose for me. Last year, my daughter received a bouquet of roses. We placed it in a flower vase with water for a few days and before throwing them away, I decided to take cuttings of the roses. The result: 4 rose plants (two on my balcony and two in the ground).

014 015

Rose – balcony

016 017

Rose – balcony

Here are some snaps of the rose plants on the ground:

019 021

Rose – ground

 

Transplanted the Yesterday, today and tomorrow plant from pot to ground, and I’m happy with the splendid fragrance of the plant. Every morning, I sit for a while with a cup of tea in front of this plant enjoying the sweet fragrance while feasting my eyes on the roses. Here it is:

004

Yesterday, today and tomorrow

I have to take cuttings of this plant and propagate them next year!

 

013A

 

A new addition to my home garden this year is the orange tree. I stuck in a thick stake adjacent to it for support. The fruit trees in my home garden are now four – persimmon, peach, fig and orange. Of these, only the persimmon in its eight year has been yielding fruit. The rest are 1-2 years old.

 

Orange tree

 

 

 

 

 

 

012A

 

 

 

My small herb garden is doing well too. The oregano is trying to take over the entire plot; I need to trim it to a reasonable size.

Camomille and Torch Lily are the two additions to my herb garden, thanks to Utiyama-san again.

Next month is the ideal time for propagating plants in my region – so I plan to propagate quite a few flowers this time including some fragrant roses!

 

Until the next post, Happy Gardening”

 

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Home garden blooms”


  1. May 27, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    The photos of the irises and roses are beautiful. I love the color combination of that iris. It looks to be a bearded iris right? Not a dwarf one? Also, I love the yesterday, today and tomorrow plant. I’m not familiar with it. Can you grow it in U.S.? I wonder what the botanical name is… Thanks for sharing your lovely flowers.

    • June 1, 2011 at 12:10 pm

      Yes, I think it is a bearded Iris. I received several of these from a friend last year.
      The Yesterday, today and tomorrow plant is a fragrant perennial (Genus: Burnsfelsia). I think it does grow in the US too. See this link: http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/56222/
      Note however, that the plant is poisonous if ingested so you should keep pets away from it. Thanks for dropping by.

  2. May 28, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    I would never have thought of taking cuttings from a bouquet. The result is beautiful.
    You have a lovely garden. Thanks for sharing it.

    • June 1, 2011 at 12:13 pm

      While in India, I thought all roses were fragrant. We don’t get many fragrant varieties here in Japan. Yesterday, I received and planted six cuttings of a fragrant rose variety – so next year I hope to have additional blooms. It is not too difficult to propagate – the timing is important though.

  3. June 3, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Hi. Beautiful photos and beautiful blog. I was really surprised at some of the plants you were able to grow in Japan, especially the orange tree. Good luck with everything. And thanks for welcoming me to Blotanical and visiting me at http://nittygrittydirtman.wordpress.com. Be well.

  4. 6 Smita
    March 25, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    Hi, beautiful pics and lovely flowers. I must ask you how you manage the Geraniums or where did you get these from? My Geraniums bloomed and then stopped and then bloomed and now they are wilting!! Can you please give some advise. I used cocopeat from Hypercity in bangalore but does not seem to be helping in saving my plants!!

    • March 27, 2014 at 3:29 pm

      Hi Simita,
      Geraniums are easy to maintain and easy to propagate in my experience. These are in my home garden in Japan. I think you should use compost in addition to cocopeat – the soil that comes with these plants are not up to standard in BLR. Add some compost and also fertilizer every 15 days – you get the small coarse grained variety with N-K-P of 8-8-8 or so. I leave these geraniums in the soil as they are and trim them when the flowers dry out or the growth is excessive. Best of luck.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 138,598 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

