29
Apr
11

Back after a hiatus

I’m back to my beloved gardens after a hiatus of more than six months. Various events have transpired during this period; I had been away on assignments to India for more than three months. I feel splendid and am raring to go with various veggies, flowers and fruits this spring!

Here is the first of my plots in my office garden:

Office Plot 1

First plot – potatoes, eda mame and corn

I planted the first row of potatoes end March. I decided to go with Eda mame for the next two rows. Incidentally, I got into the gardening hobby thanks to the Eda Mame. My first plant was Eda Mame about 20 years ago. The taste of the Eda Mame was outstanding – nothing like the inspid ones I find at the local convenience store. I got hooked into growing my own vegetables, thanks to Eda mame.

I also decided to try some corn this year. Planted six saplings in the last row between the Marigold and Nira flowers. I’m worried about the strong winds in spring. I have erected stakes and tied the saplings to them, hopefully they should be safe.

Here’s a photo of a small plot in my home garden:

Lettuce and onions

Lettuce varieties and onions

The more I pluck some leaves from the base of the lettuce, the more the leaves grow the next day! The lettuce leaves fill my salad plate every morning. The onions too are ready for harvest – they are sweet, watery and delicious!

 

Tomatoes and onions

Second Plot – Tomatoes and onions

I’m trying out a new idea this time – as the tomatoes grow tall, I’ll divide each plant into two branches and lead them up the poles. I’ll probably erect some horizontal stiffeners to keep them from falling over when the plants grow tall.

The onions had a new life – when small, the top leaves were neatly eaten to the bulb by a wild rabbit in winter. I fenced off the plots and made sure that Bugs Bunny could no longer enter and have a feast. The leaves shot up again and they onions are ready for harvest. Compared to the onions in my home garden (both were planted at the same time), they are slightly smaller, thanks to the darned wabbit.

 

Meanwhile, here are some flowers that bloomed in February

Daffodil - click to enlarge Jinchoge - click to enlarge
Yamabuki - click to enlarge Nira - click to enlarge

Flowers that bloomed in February – Daffodil, Jinchoge, Yellow Yambuki and Nira

Here is my third plot in my office garden.

Bell pepper, ruccola, norabona - click to enlarge

Plot 3 – Bell pepper, Cucumber, Ruccola, Norabona (+ 1 row yet to be filled)

The Ruccola yield has been wonderful. I keep snipping off the flowers at the top and leaves develop below. The leaves a a rather spicy taste and can be eaten raw. I’m going to collect seeds after the flowers and sow them again next year.

I had a rather curious experience with one of the cucumber saplings, the leaves of which suddenly drooped one day. I decided to explore the roots and dug it out. I found a large fat insect eating away the roots – disposed the insect, and re-planted the sapling. Seems to be back on course! Lesson – every time a sapling looks unhealthy, dig up and check the roots!

 

Here are some lovely flowers from the garden adjacent to my office garden.

Click to enlarge Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge Click to enlarge

The flowers in two colors pink and red (top right corner) are from the same tree (Boke – pronounced “Bokay”).

The pink flowers at the bottom left corner are the peach flowers (not the peach tree flowers).

 

Lastly, here’s the fourth plot in my office garden.

Beans, broccoli, cauliflower - Click to enlarge  Plot 4 – Beans, broccoli and cauliflower (last row yet to be filled)

I covered broccoli (8) and cauliflower (8) saplings as soon as I planted them in the ground with a net so as to prevent insects. Last year I had a tough time getting rid of the green worms; this year I’m ready!

 

Lastly, I am delighted with my Wisteria flowers (I transplanted two aged Wisteria trees to my office garden) and this year they have bloomed well!

Wisteria - click to enlarge

Wisteria

HAPPY GARDENING!

Share this post :

14 Responses to “Back after a hiatus”


  1. May 3, 2011 at 10:36 am

    Hi there! Great blog! Congratulations on being back to your garden – looks like you have some pretty fabulous things growing in it already.

    Your row-covers look great – very inspiring. LOVE that wisteria! I look forward to keeping up with your gardens!

    • May 8, 2011 at 12:30 pm

      Thanks Aimee for dropping by and visiting my blog. Wisteria is my favorite flower. I received two more trees from a friend and have planted them in my home garden too.

  2. May 5, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    Oh my goodness, you have such a productive garden! The vegetables look beautiful, even if this is last years garden. This will be my first year growing eggplant. At least it’s my first year with a thriving eggplant. Last year I tried but the heat got to it before it produced. Thanks for the Blotanical welcome!

  3. May 10, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I think your garden is amazing! So neat and orderly. I love vegetables and admire gardeners who can grow them.

  4. 7 Nell Jean
    May 14, 2011 at 9:13 am

    Thank you for the welcome on Blotanical. I’m not new to Blotanical, but my Seedscatterer.wordpress blog is. I am amazed by your vegetable garden. Planting corn at wide spaces is the old farm way here. Now they plant it very very close together. There is a large field of corn very close to my house and another field a distance from here. Corn planted so closely requires much water and fertilizer.
    I planted a little bed of okra. Today I added some zuchinni squash seeds where the okra did not come up.

    I also noticed that there are beautiful camellias next to your office. We grow those too in the winter. By Easter they have all fainted away, the blossoms.

  5. May 15, 2011 at 1:56 am

    Thanks so much for dropping by. Isn’t freshly picked corn delicious? I’m growing these in my small plot after many years. Have planted Okra too. Yes, Camelias are just over; roses are in full bloom now in our area.

  6. May 15, 2011 at 5:10 am

    Love the concept of the “gateway” vegetable! I think all gardeners have them – than one initial success that opened our eyes to the differences in the final product we were growing. TASTE – it addicts us to gardening. Good luck with the garden this year!

    -Carol K.

  7. May 26, 2011 at 3:45 am

    I love what you’ve done with your different beds. I will definitely consider planting some edamame. Like you, I am totally unimpressed with the flavor of what we get at the grocery store.

    I’ll be interested to see how the corn fares for you. We used to grow corn when I was growing up but a big problem for us was the cross pollination…. if we didn’t have at least 3 rows, we couldn’t get enough pollination to get a bountiful crop, and as a result, I’ve not tried to grow it in our small vegetable garden.

    Love those bokay blooms… very different!

    I look forward to watching the progress!

    Cathy in MA-USA

  8. 11 Suguna
    May 27, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Very well arranged wooden blocks for the plants is a good work. I am impressed to see beautiful colored flowers.Wish you a very happy gardening.

    Suguna

  9. May 28, 2011 at 1:33 am

    Wow! First of all…an OFFICE garden? That is great! I think a lot of people here in the US would be a LOT happier if they had an office garden.

    I am VERY impressed with all that you grow in the space that you have. I used to complain that my 300 square foot garden in my backyard was too small for all that I wanted to do.

    I tried the square foot gardening method but it didn’t work for me. Now I’m doing SPIN gardening (spingardening.com or spinfarming.com) and I really like it, especially with the new big garden that I have this year!

    I wish I had your green thumb for flowers, but I just don’t other than geraniums. :o)

    I look forward to more delicious posts of all your yummy veggies. Care to share any good recipes for them? I’ll take whatever you can give. I need new ideas and also want to post recipes to my blog to get other people to eat fresh veggies too.

    I am so glad you found my blog and even more glad that I found yours!

    All good gardening to you!

    • May 28, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Hi Audra, thanks for dropping by and for the nice comments. Yes, I am lucky that I work out of my own office that’s located in the countryside. Although I do have more space (not as much as you have though), I can spend time on the office garden only during breaks from work. Thanks for info on SPIN gardening – seems to be an interesting concept.
      That’s a good idea. I’ll try to post recipes too – but most of them are likely to be spicy because of my background!
      Cheers.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 137,896 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

