14
May
10

Japanese garden at my office site

The friendly Japanese person who has leased my office space maintains a beautiful Japanese garden.

Overall view

View of Japanese-style garden flanking drive leading up to house

Close-up

Close-up of part of Japanese garden

Another view

Another view showing the maple tree and the well-maintained trees and bushes

From a different perspective

From a different perspective

The garden has numerous plants and flowers, including some trees that have been planted more than 50 years ago. Here are some blooms from the Japanese garden.

Blooms in the J. garden Blooms in the J. garden
Blooms in the J. garden Blooms in the J. garden

Roses that light up the day! (click to enlarge)

Rose Rhodenderon
Lilac Rose with rhodenderon behind

L to R and clockwise: rose, rhodenderon, lilac and rose (click to enlarge)

Finally, here’s a mystery flower for you. Can you guess what it is?

CIMG0047

Guess this mysterious flower!

Happy gardening from Kisarazu, Japan.

Share this post :


12 Responses to “Japanese garden at my office site”


  1. May 16, 2010 at 10:51 am

    The Japanese garden is beautiful! I think the mystery flower is a ladies slipper, a lovely flower I have not been successful in growing. I have to admire yours!

  2. 3 Chamomilla
    May 17, 2010 at 2:16 am

    Oh, I wish my office environment was this beautiful and relaxing! Very inspiring!

  3. May 19, 2010 at 7:09 am

    The mystery flower is Cypripedium japonicum. I think the variety may be ‘Sweet Lips’ but I’m not sure if is a hybrid or the species.

    They think this is pollinated by a bumblebee, but no one has ever caught it in the act.

    • May 25, 2010 at 3:24 am

      Perfect answer. Yes, it is exactly as you have mentioned. There are about 5 or 6 plants in a bunch under a shade tree; only one bloom. I look everyday to see if any other flower has come up but not this year, I think.

  4. May 30, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    What a lovely environment to work in! Must be very inspiring. Thanks for sharing.

  5. June 1, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Wow, fabulous topiary! I’ve planted some Dodonaea viscosas that I plant to prune into cylinders as they get big enough, to create some sculptural elements in my garden.

  6. June 6, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Lovely garden. I always admire gardeners who have the discipline for such perfect pruning. Cheers!

  7. June 13, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Hi Gururajr: LIZA AND JOHN’S GARDEN enjoyed our visit today.

    Gardens are funny, they do things their way even though you think you have control of them. You don’t you are just the assistant. You can guide them, help them and they let you think you have control. Do You? Your blog shows how Gardens and Mother Nature do their thing. They are a visitor in your world as you are too there’s. As you learn to blend with them they do the same with you and all is great.

    Have a wonderful day,
    John

  8. August 17, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    You have a very nice work place.


Leave a comment


Pages

Blog Stats

  • 150,305 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
May 2010
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31