16
Apr
10

Home garden

While I had thought that my home garden was languishing with very little sunlight in winter, just as spring entered, all the plants suddenly woke up and made their presence felt. I found flowers blooming all over, salad leaves perking up, new buds making their appearance in dried stumps and branches  of cuttings I had given up for good; they really surprised me. Here are some flowers in bloom:

Daffodil viola
pansy pear

Daffodil, viola, pansy and pear (click to enlarge)

Here are some harvests and which form part of my daily salad at breakfast:

broccoli nasturtium
norabona, lettuce, ruccola radish, broccoli, ruccola, lettuce

Some harvests from my home garden L to R and clockwise: Broccoli, nasturtium, lettuce and norabona, radish, ruccola and broccoli (click to enlarge)

Geranium Blue pansy
Daffodil Spiraea thunbergii

More bloomers in my garden: L to R and clockwise: Geranium, blue pansy, daffodil, Spiraea thunbergii (click to enlarge)

I discovered something amazing in the Japanese winterberry that I picked up during the winter hike in December. I brought it back with me from the hills, placed it in a nice vase filled with water and renewed the water from time to time. The seeds turned red and remained so without dropping off for more than 4 months. Just last week I looked closely and there were fresh green leaves from the middle of a branch – but no roots! This really surprised me – if any of you has an explanation, I’ll be happy to know. See the photos below.

Japanese winterberry Japanese winterberry

Left: Japanese winterberry – placed in water in December          Right: Branch of new leaves, but no roots in the stem

 

Here are some more colors from my home garden: (click to enlarge)

Hyacinth nira flower
unknown japanese photinia

L to R and clockwise: Hyacinth, nira flower, snapdragon, flaming red leaves of the japanese photinia

Finally, my favorite wisteria that I transplanted from a friend’s garden to mine has started flowering!

Here it is:

Wisteria

Wisteria

That’s all for this week! Have a great day!

Share this post :

11 Responses to “Home garden”


  1. April 17, 2010 at 1:37 am

    Spring weave her magic and our gardens (and ourselves) are renewed. Lovely post.

  2. April 17, 2010 at 3:40 am

    Congrats on your harvest! Love all the pretty flowers, especially the pear flowers. Lovely.

  3. April 18, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    Thanks, Lzyjo. I found the name of the flower that my friend presented (“unknown” flower) – it is called snapdragon. Looking forward to seeing your spring veggies and plants too.

  4. April 22, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    wow! all of the flowers are so lovely; the pear is also my favorite!

  5. April 24, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    The pear is my favorite too! What is the picture in the 2nd group of photos, the one on the top-right, that you put in your salad? I don’t recognize it. Thanks for the botanical message 🙂

  6. 8 Meg
    May 11, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Love your gardens both home and office! Wisteria is a favorite but never to grow in my zone4 garden. Thanks for your welcome to Blotanical.Happy Gardening Meg

    • May 11, 2010 at 3:35 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Meg. My plan next week is to erect a supporting frame for the two Wisterias in my office garden and lead the branches over them so that I can sit under the flowers next year! Happy gardening!

  7. May 13, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    The flowers are beautiful! Thank you for my blotanical welcome! Check out my blog at taraandmattfraser.blogspot.com!

  8. 11 Suguna
    July 10, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Beautiful and the environment is so nice that you can work after attending to the gardening issue.Keep up.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 137,412 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

