11
Apr
10

Office garden

Now that I have two gardens, I have decided to call them Office Garden (the plot that comes with my workspace) and Home Garden (the plot at my residence). I have made fairly good progress with the Office Garden. Let the photos speak for themselves. (Drat! The date stamp on my digital camera has a mind of its own!)

4 beds ready

Overall view of the four beds

After allowing the compost to thoroughly soak into the soil for a week, I planted various seedlings and seeds in the four beds. Here’s a sketch of my planting calendar for 2010 with each color representing one kind of vegetable :

plantingcalendar2010

Planting calendar for 2010

Of the seeds I planted, potatoes, radishes, beans, spinach, carrots ruccola, and nastartium have already sprouted. Tomatoes are yet to sprout. The weather has been cold and warm unexpectedly.

I also erected nets surrounding all four plots to protect the young saplings from the strong spring winds, and also to deter animals such as cats, rabbits and the like. I still need to install a gate to shut out animals. The bamboo supports should be strong enough to withstand the wind.

Nets

Wind-proofing and animal-proofing nets all around

Another view

Another view of the nets

 

Saito-san, a good friend and neighbor at my office site, presented me with two large but old wisteria trees. We labored hard and long for a day to transplant them to my office space. He also presented me with two smaller wisteria trees that I planted in my home garden.

Wisteria Wisteria

Wisteria trees transplanted to my Office Garden

Although the trees look bare, buds have already started sprouting. I intend to build a framework of bamboo to support the branches so that the wisteria flowers can hang down just above seats made of tree stumps. You can see a few stumps in the photos above.  I planted these trees so that the growing branches face each other and hope to lead them toward each other by rope/wire or other means. It has always been a dream of mine to have wisterias – thank you, Saito-san!

 

Share this post :

8 Responses to “Office garden”


  1. April 12, 2010 at 3:02 am

    Congrats on your wisterias!! I love what you did with the netting. You new garden looks so great.

  2. April 12, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Thanks so much for your nice comments, Lzyjo.

  3. 3 Kevin
    April 13, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Your new office garden looks great. With the wisterias and everything, I’m sure you’re going to have one very beautiful and enticing workspace.

    • April 16, 2010 at 9:42 pm

      Thanks Kevin, for stopping by. The wisterias have started flowering! This is really thrilling because I love this flower and the trees, and I have four of them now – two at the office garden and two at the home garden!

  4. April 14, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    Oh, wonderful wisteria! It was wild-growing in the pines of my native home of Virginia. I love watching the bees find the flowers.

    My mom is a square-foot gardener…it’s a very smart and efficient was to garden your own veggies!

  5. April 14, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Hello Japan.
    Hello, Gururajr.
    Nice work and very beautiful.
    Put basil with your tomatoes, it’s the best.
    I like also your calendar, it’s easy to understand.
    Have a nice day in your garden, I will come back and visit you again.
    Ellada.

  6. September 1, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    There’ll come a moment when you will have to remove a tree from your
    yard. That is a obstacle but the more significant difficulty is removing the tree
    stump that will remain. It is critical to eradicate it or else
    you are going to entice pests to your yard (and usually your house) so you need to contemplate your
    options for this.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 138,598 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

