28
Nov
09

my winter garden

My visit to India for two months from August to October threw awry the plans for planting seeds for autumn and winter.  This year’s offerings are a little unplanned, but sometimes such plans turn out to be just wonderful.

Christmas cactus

Christmas cactus this year (see photo below for comparison)

Firstly, the Christmas Cactus did not disappoint me this year too. They are in full bloom now.

Christmas Cactus last year

Christmas Cactus last year behind our cat who insisted on showing up on camera!

On comparison, this year has a lot many blooms and looks fuller this year.

The camelias are doing very well bordering the edge of our parking lot as the photo below shows.

Camelias

Sasanqua camelias bordering our parking lot

I found one camelia plant that had blooms slightly different than the others – it looked more like a Rose of Sharon. These were planted when we moved into our house and I noticed it this year.

Camelia -  different type Camelia

Camelias – the one on the left is different from the others (right)

I plan to take cuttings of the camelia plant on the left and propagate them next spring.

Assorted

Pansies, violas, alyssums

With the hostas drying up and shedding all their leaves (see upper right corner for remnants), I planted some flowers that would last the winter and brighten up the place.

 

Veggie patch

Winter veggie patch

Here are my winter veggies. These include cabbage, broccolli, lettuce, sugar snap peas, and onions (those thin weedy plants at the right corner). Yes, I have planted onions for the first time, and hope to harvest them in June next year. The cabbages and broccolli have been planted at one to two-week delays for staggered harvest.

Another view of patch

Another view of veggie patch

This view shows a small “hot house” that I got last week to store all my propagated plants. This was the largest one I could manage given the space! I really need to get a larger garden – and am looking out to hire some space!

 

Pansy Alyssum
Lantana Geranium

 Now in bloom!

Clockwise from top – pansy, alyssum, lantana, geranium

White assortedI also tried to use white as the theme and put together seasonal flowers and placed them at the entrance of my house. Let’s see how they turn out!

Next post – flowers from the botanical garden in the Izu Peninsula!

Happy gardening!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this post :

11 Responses to “my winter garden”


  1. November 29, 2009 at 4:12 am

    Beautiful flowers, Gururaj! Your “parking lot” camellias are gorgeous and your Christmas cactus too, I’m not sure I’ve seen that one flower with so much abandon!

  2. November 29, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Hi, Gururajr,
    Lovely post! Just stopped by to let you know there’s an award waiting for you on my blog. Enjoy! Pam

    • December 1, 2009 at 5:45 pm

      Hi Pamela, I’m honored that you considered my blog for the award. I’m not sure about the rules for the award – I believe you have to pick others too for the award right? There are so many wonderful blogs out there and especially on Blotanical, and I have hardly skimmed the surface. I’m afraid that if I select some for the awards, I may miss out many others who also deserve it, and whose blogs I have not seen yet! So this is a quandary. Anyway, thanks much for your kind consideration.

  3. December 3, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Hi, Gururaj, I understand your quandary:there are so many wonderful blogs, it’s hard to choose a limited number. But I like this award because it encourages others to explore new blogs… I had great fun reading the blogs chosen by Avis who nominated me. Please put the award in your sidebar … you deserve it. You can refer to the blogroll already in your sidebar if you don’t want to add new links. I hope you accept the award, as your blog is truly outstanding! Pam

  4. January 13, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Hi, I like your Christmas cactus, have one just like it, also have a black cat that looks like yours also. The white-themed pot is very pretty, thanks for sharing.

    • January 13, 2010 at 5:10 pm

      Hi, thanks for dropping by. The Japanese “mon” looks good; I’ll try to pay more attention to structures in Japanese gardens henceforth and post photos in my blog. Hope you will be able to reproduce some of them in your garden. All the best.

  5. 8 f1laila
    February 18, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    hi gururaj i really liked ur Sasanqua camellias,it so beautiful,infact iam from India, Bangalore…so just wanna know can i grow this plants in bangalore,can send me couple detail and are annual flowers.waitin for reply bye

    • February 18, 2010 at 10:00 pm

      Hi, thanks for visiting my blog. I’m pretty sure it could grow in Bangalore, which has excellent climate for growing all kinds of flowers and vegetables. I have preserved some seeds, so when I visit Bangalore next, I’ll bring it along with me, if you like. All the best with your gardening adventures.

  6. 10 f1laila
    February 23, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    hey thanks a lot,,,,,,can i get this seeds of this plantin any nursery in bangalore….and definetly if ur in bangalore would love meet u,,i can get lot of info from u on gardenin as iam a new gardner ,,,really dono anythin…so just checkin out all the blogs
    byee


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 135,826 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

