30
Oct
09

Back to my poor li’l garden

If I could hear my plants speak, they would probably be yelling at me to pull out those weeds that were engulfing them, draining away their nutrition and cutting out sunlight! Yes, I returned to my garden in Japan last week; my flowering plants engulfed by tall grasses, some of my herbs missing and a tomato plant surprisingly peeping out from my hostas!

But amidst the gloom, there’s sunshine. Take a look at my first harvest of peanuts.

Peanuts

Bunch of peanuts

I had put in just four of these plants before I left for India, and was thrilled to see them come up good and healthy.

Washed and ready

Peanuts washed and ready for boiling with salt

I wasted no time and had boiled them almost immediately. I never expected to harvest them so easily. This will be a permanent feature every summer.

Another pleasant surprise was sweet potato. The plants had made their way to various parts of the small plot of land and had to be chopped up. A trial dig gave me some healthy looking sweet potatoes.

yam

Just dug-up and washed sweet potato

I am encourage to grow these again next year. The only point you need to consider is the space – these plants creep all over your garden and take up space.

Another delightful surprise was morning glory. A few of them still adorned my fences and made my day!

MorningGlory

Morning glory – still going strong!

The photo above shows two of these flowers engulfed by Japanese anemone leaves. Not surprisingly, I could not find any seeds; this plant was a hybrid variety that I had purchased from the local nursery. I was happy however, to find lots of seeds in other MG plants that I had raised from seed.

A long sasanqua plant with a single flower greeted my return to the garden.

Sasanqua 

Sasanqua

The ginger lily plants had also shot up in my absence; the toad lily was in full bloom.

Ginger and toad lilies

Ginger lily and toad lily on either side of the solar lamp

Toad lily

Larger view of the toad lily

CIMG0046

Scented geranium

The cutting of the scented geranium has grown into a healthy plant! My cup runneth over; I am glad to be back to my garden in Japan.

Share this post :

PS: My camera fell and the date setting became confused in some of the photos.

7 Responses to “Back to my poor li’l garden”


  1. October 30, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Ha! Those camera dates are funny! Amazing harvest from the peanuts and sweet potatoes!!! I haven’t tried those yet. How exciting to dig them out of the ground. They look delicious. Beautiful camellia too. I don’t think the garden is angry.

    • October 30, 2009 at 8:53 am

      Hi Lzyjo, I dropped the camera and the settings went awry. I have since corrected them.
      I still need quite some time to clean up the weeds and get the garden back in order, but I’m too busy with translation work. Spending about an hour a day to remove the tomato, eggplant and other leftovers. But it certainly is great to get back and start work on the garden. I have lots of plans!

  2. November 2, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Stunning photos of those geraniums – still jealous

    • November 9, 2009 at 11:08 am

      Thanks, Simon. I’ll be happy to give you some geraniums if you land up at my place. I propagate several cuttings of geranium in spring and give them to friends!

  3. 5 Jean
    November 5, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Boiled peanuts are very popular here. I prefer mine dried and roasted, my husband likes the boiled.

    Nell Jean — Seedscatterer

  4. November 19, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    I had similar morning glories growing in my gardens this year. Don’t you just love their true blue color?


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 137,346 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

