24
Oct
09

Visit to Sagar Upavan in Mumbai

On the last day of my two-month stay in Mumbai, I decided to visit a park in Mumbai. Internet searches pointed to the Bombay Port Trust Garden, called Sagar Upavan in Colaba. I hired a taxi and invited my elderly mother and sister for a drive and a stroll among trees to which they promptly agreed.

At the gate, two young boys either busy on the mobile phone or playing game on a PC (I couldn’t judge since they were looking down under the ledge), tersely said “two rupees.”  There’s one thing about the service class in Mumbai – they assume with two words they have communicated all there is to say. I presumed that we had to pay two rupees per head as admission charges, paid for all of us, and he waved us in cursorily.  We had taken no more than ten paces when another person asked me for the admission tickets. I retraced my steps to the two boys still focusing on something under the table, and asked for the tickets. One of them looked up and gave me three tickets wordlessly. Welcome to Mumbai!

The park was full of tall trees that looked down on shady curving paths.

Winding lane

A winding lane in Sagar Upavan

Several elderly ladies energetically doing their rounds – one of them looking irritated when I stepped into her path and stood looking up admiringly at a palm tree. I found a bench overlooking the sea for my mother and sister and took off with my camera.

View of the Arabian Sea

The Arabian Sea

A glass house in the garden enclosed numerous cactus plants. A pity it was closed and I couldn’t enter it – although I managed to get a shot.

Cactus

Cacti in a glass house

During my stroll, I came across some furry friends. The mother stayed put as I patted her but the little one made off.

Cats

At home in the garden!

The mother stayed put as I patted her but the little one took off looking a little scared. I shuffled off quietly and was happy to see the little one return to his mother.

Although the garden had a wide variety of flowering plants, not too many were in bloom. I was told that most of the plants and trees  in the garden put on flowers just before and during the rainy season (May to July). I managed to shoot some but could only recognize the Gulmohar (local name) that Wikipedia gives as Royal Poinciana or Flamboyant.

Gulmohar

Gulmohar

I’m counting on you to come up with the names of the other flowers shown below.

Flower-01 Flower-01A
Flower-02 Flower-02A

Top row – Flower 1; Bottom row – Flower 2 Guess the flowers, ladies and gentlemen

 

Turnera Turnera-A
Lily Lantana

Top row – Turnera Ulmifolia (according to the board in Hindi and English)

Bottom row – Lily (I guess, looking a little tired!) and Lantana (my favorite)

Here are some trees for you tree lovers (I know you are out there).

Banyan-1 Banyan-2

Banyan Tree

Tree-1 Tree-2

Tree-1                                                                           Tree-2

Tree 1 looks kind of like the “matsubokuri” tree that you see in Japan with hard black seeds (see photo). Tree 2 has a huge hard fruit as shown.

Finally, I give you what looks like an Aster (tell me if I’m wrong).

Aster

Aster?

Have a great day!

Share this post :

5 Responses to “Visit to Sagar Upavan in Mumbai”


  1. October 25, 2009 at 6:58 am

    Beautiful! I love the tropical plants! Those towering palms are gorgeous! I love than Banyan trees too! Ah, I wish these things could grow here!

  2. October 29, 2009 at 2:51 am

    Hello Gururaj…
    Firstly thank you for your message to me on Blotanical.
    You have a lovely, interesting blog.

    I have been looking at your photos and can give you a couple of names from the botanical garden plants, since many of them grow here in Tenerife. The red-orange flower number 2 is Ixora Coccinea, which I have also grown in my garden.

    The white (tired) lily is the Spider Lily, Hymenocallis latifolia which also grows well in gardens here.

    The tree with the long sausage like appendages, often called a sausage tree, is Kigelia pinnata.

    I live very near to a Botanical garden which also has a wonderful example of the banyan tree (Ficus macrophylla.)

    regards,
    Canarybird

    • October 29, 2009 at 3:18 am

      Sharon, that’s wonderful. You are right on all three counts – the Ixora Coccinea is named after an Indian deity according to Wikipedia and is native to Asia. Its called the jungle geranium or jungle flame. The spider lily too is correct; I wish I had picked up some seeds of the same. The ones growing in India have a delightful perfume. You are on the money about Kigelia Pinnata also – photos on the web resemble the photo that I took. Thanks so much. Look forward to seeing photos of Spanish gardens.

  3. 5 pranit_n
    May 9, 2014 at 10:35 am

    flower 1 hibiscus flower 2 red ixora, n that is not aster that is sunbeam


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 135,826 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

