24
Jul
09

Melon, morning glory and mosquitoes

The water melon we had yesterday at home was delicious – I just collected the little black seeds, threw them into a vinyl pot and pulled some dirt over them. In about two days, what a pleasant surprise!

Water melon seedlings

Water melon seedlings – see the black seed cover still sticking to the leaf!

These seedlings will probably not give me water melons similar to the ones that I ate, but I’m surely going to plant them in the lasagnia bed that I made and see what transpires!

In the meanwhile, here are some veggies that I harvested the last few days.

CIMG0045-a

CIMG0042

Eggplant                                                                              Cucumber

Some flowers in bloom in my little garden today are:

Morning glory

Morning glory (called ‘Asagao’ in Japanese)

I grew these from seeds that I picked up from the kerb during a walk. The seeds had fallen across the railing of a car repair shop near my house.

Rose of Sharon  The majestic Rose of Sharon

I do love this flower. I have seen other varieties too in my neighborhood. Some are pure white, some are delicate pink and some tinged with purple. Here’s another variety blooming in my garden.

CIMG0026

Another variety of Rose of Sharon

I never get tired of looking at this flower and admiring its beauty. Crape myrtle in the background.

 

Lantana

Lantana

I love the various shades of orange and red in the Lantana. Naturally, I have taken some cuttings and planted them.

Here’s a fragrant flower that I am growing indoors in a planter. I picked up this plant at the local nursery. The flowers bloom at night and emit a pleasant smell – jasminum nitidum.

Jasmine

Angelwing jasmine

Some days ago, we had delicious avocado dip with corn chips, and I specifically gave instructions to save the seed. Here’s what I did with the seed, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

Avocado seed

Avocado seed

The perfectly circular shape of the abutilon never ceases to amaze me!

CIMG0032-a

Abutilon

Here’s another variety of abutilon that I’m growing in a planter, and a photo of corn plants that are growing  quite well.

Abutilon Corn

 Another variety of abutilon                                        Corn (okura and green peppers beyond)

Two other pleasant visitors this summer are:

CIMG0027 CIMG0031

 Marigold                                                                        Petunia

I believe that Petunia can be propagated through cuttings – so that’s next on my list.

This summer, the mosquitoes in my garden have been a menace. I found it unbelievable that a few of the blighters pushed their proboscis through the minute holes of my cotton socks too! Every evening as I tend to my garden, my neighbors kids are treated to a frenzied clapping performance by me. Last week I took full measures. I got myself a pair of those Wellington boots – that we used to call gum boots in India. Yesterday I watched with a smile as no fewer than three of the mosquitoes perched on my boots. Sure, go ahead now. Shoot your darned proboscis into my boots.

I fervently hoped that at least one of them had forcefully inserted its proboscis (or whatever it uses to suck up my blood) into my  boots and that it had  permanently turned up by ninety degrees upward. This thought cheered me up considerably. The next time it wants to have lemonade on a hot day, it will have to fly upside down to insert its proboscis into the glass of lemonade!

Have a nice day!

 

Share this post :

10 Responses to “Melon, morning glory and mosquitoes”


  1. July 24, 2009 at 7:05 am

    Ugh! Not mosquitoes! I feel for you! I got covered with chigger bites while I picked while blackberries. Can’t stop itching! Your flower are beautiful! That perfectly round ablution is amazing! Love that jasmine too! Have a great weekend!

    • July 24, 2009 at 1:31 pm

      I just looked up chigger – hadn’t heard of this before. Seems to be a kind of flea and also read that a commonly known remedy for chigger bites is to apply nail polish to reduce itchiness!
      Thanks for stopping by and for your nice comments.

  2. 3 frugilegus
    July 27, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Looks like the weather there is the same as in London! Constant rain here – apparently Summer is on strike.

  3. July 28, 2009 at 5:59 am

    I have a small watermelon. It doesn’t look as if I will get any fruit this year! How long do they take to develop? I don’t know anything about them, just thought it looked an interesting plant to by. The way one does! 🙂 Val

    • August 2, 2009 at 3:32 am

      Hi Val, sorry to be late in getting back to you. Sorry, I have no idea about watermelons. Just because the seeds turned into seedlings, I have planted them in a small new lasagnia bed that I made. This is a fun experiment – let me see if I do get any water melons using seeds from commercial fruits. I’ll keep you informed. Would like to see your water melon plant too.

  4. July 29, 2009 at 3:21 am

    Oh, wow! I never thought to apply nail polish! It would probably prevent me from itching them!! Chiggers are THE WORST, you’re lucky you don’t have them, they like to go under any tight fitting elastic clothing, like waistbands, sock cuffs, etc., they really bite in awful places! It’s funny I thought the same thing about the bees and insects stinging my shoes! I was wearing flip flops in the backyard and a honey bee that was on the clover bit my toe, oh my god, my toes and foot swelled up and it hurt! Then DH got me nice thick rubber garden clogs, sting that you bees!!

  5. August 6, 2009 at 4:01 am

    Thanks for the Blot-msg, I’m glad I found your gorgeous blog. Your photos are beautiful and I just want to jump inside those flowers! I will be most interested in watching how your melons grow out. They are probably F1 hybrids which may or may not breed true for the first generation. No harm in finding out through experimenting.

    What a great idea with the rubber boots. I, too, have been eaten alive this past month or so — both mosquitoes and chiggers. UGH. Yes, nail polish does work wonders. Ask me how I know….

    Petunias will easily propagate from cuttings. Basic softwood cutting propagation. I do this in overwintered petunias to get new ones the next year.

  6. August 7, 2009 at 7:44 am

    Those are just gorgeous pictures. You are one of those gardeners with a gift for sharing – like so many others it is such a delight reading. I’ll be coming by more often! Oh, and yes, it is nice seeing mosquito’s get frustrated – even from 10,000 miles away! Their loss is my gain, too!

    • August 7, 2009 at 1:36 pm

      Thanks for the nice comments, Steve. I’ll be visiting your blog too to learn more about roses. Several of my rose cuttings have successfully sprouted roots – now I’ve got to study how to care for roses! Those are great rose photos in your blog. Cheers.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 137,896 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

