15
Apr
09

Cherry blossoms – here today, gone tomorrow!

My Japanese friends love cherry blossoms that come up on us suddenly in a burst of pink and white and disappear as suddenly as they came, to make their appearance the next year. Here is a scene from a small park on top of a hill near my house – check the pink and white in flowers in the background too. They are all over the town and last for less than a week.

Cherry blossom

Cherry blossoms – here today, gone tomorrow!

The green peas in my planter gave me immense pleasure. The peas were delicious and I made it a point to eat them raw at breakfast. Next year, I’m going to have several planters full of green pea plants!

Green peas in planter

Green peas - click to expand

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Green peas in planter                                   Harvested for breakfast!

This week, we had a bit of rain and then bright sunshine. This seems to have worked wonders – I found significant growth in all the plants the next day. Here is what my square-foot garden looks like today (you should be able to see a large photo if you click on it):

Veggie patch today - click to expand

My veggie patch today

 

I have already harvested Potherb Mustard (Mizuna), which is great for salads. See photo below (left) of Mizuna. The photo on the right is the status of one of my flower beds.

Potherb Mustard (Mizuna)

Flower bed

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My sprout project seems to be on course. The radish sprouts have come out well, and I have removed the covering on the plastic containers. The alfalfa sprouts seem however, to have stopped growth. Maybe time to eat ’em? Let me know what you think after seeing the photo below.

 

Sprouts - click to expand

Incidentally, I visited my friend, Utiyama-san last week and was astounded at the varieties of plants he has in his garden. In addition to space around the house, he has a large plot on which he grows various vegetables. His plot must be at least 10 times the size of my patch! His wife was kind enough to give me the Japanese kerria (yamabuki), which I promptly planted in my garden and also cuttings.  Here are the Utiyamas and their garden:

 

The Utiyamas

The Utiyamas – friends and avid gardeners from whom I’m learning a lot about Japanese flowers and vegetables

 

The Utiyama Garden

Here is their large plot in which they grow various kinds of vegetables including onions, beans, corn, ginger and so on.

See these Japanese kerria in all its glory here. Thanks, Utiyama-san.

Japanese kerria (yamabuki)

Japanese kerria

 

I also spotted the the first bloom of the Gymnaster savatieri (miyako wasure), a kind of Aster in my garden.

Gymnaster

Gymnaster savatieri

I planted some flower seeds that I had brought over from India last February, and am happy to report that the seedlings have sprouted. The seeds I planted were Aster, Balsam and Marigold. Aster seems to have sprung up profusely, while had success with only four of the marigold seeds.

Aster, Balsam and Marigold

Aster, Balsam and Marigold seedlings

Finally, I moved two of my curry leaf cuttings into the open and have taken off the plastic covers on the pots. I intend to experiment by spraying these two pots with a fine mist of water everyday. Still keeping my fingers crossed and hoping that the curry leaf plants will make it up to summer in July!

Curry leaf cuttings

Three of the surviving curry leaf cuttings out in the open!

Finally, here is an early morning view of my square-foot veggie patch.

 

CIMG0042

Early morning view of my patch

The tomato and cucumber plants are just below the net on the left side.

Have a great day!

 

Share this post :

13 Responses to “Cherry blossoms – here today, gone tomorrow!”


  1. April 16, 2009 at 1:53 am

    I’m Japanese having lived in Malaysia for 20 years to date. Your photos made me nostalgic.
    I post tropical plants daily.

  2. April 16, 2009 at 3:17 am

    I enjoyed reading the posts in your blog too. I tried to post but don’t understand why you need a password to post a comment! I have added your blog to my Blog Roll and look forward to reading your blog.

  3. April 18, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Love the cherry blossoms! There are some weeping cherry trees not too far from where I live, and it really feels like spring once they start blooming.

  4. April 20, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    Hi there, thanks for stopping by. I visited your blog too, and have promptly added you to my blog roll. I look forward to sharing news and photos, and hope you will share your insight too. We have some common interests – technical writing, languages and Yoga.

  5. April 20, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Looks like everything is coming up very nicely. Your vegie gardens are so neat and attractive. Love the Gymnaster savatieri it is very pretty.

  6. April 20, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    Thanks for stopping by. I visited your blog too and loved looking at various flowers in the garden and the beautiful countryside nursery.

  7. 7 jo
    April 25, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Hello there,

    Always a little sad when flowering trees and shrubs go over so quickly.
    Is that the Kerria japonica “pleniflora” ?
    Lovely shrub, and it roots very easily. In fact, it flowers the following season. Mine are enormous: 20 feet by 20 feet and the flowers last for at least five weeks. (UK).

    • 8 jo
      April 26, 2009 at 10:22 pm

      You stopped by I noticed.

      • April 26, 2009 at 11:44 pm

        Yes, I did and I liked the photos of the seeds with the names on them. I think I should imitate this method – sometimes the tags I attach to the seeds that I collect go missing, and I have a hard time figuring which is which! Cheers.

    • April 26, 2009 at 11:40 pm

      I didn’t know about this – you are right. It appears that Kerria japonica, is a deciduous shrub in the rose family Rosaceae, native to eastern Asia, in China, Japan and Korea, and is named after William Kerr, who introduced the cultivar ‘Pleniflora’. You are very knowledgeable!

  8. April 27, 2009 at 9:10 am

    Have enjoyed reading about your vegetable garden, and all the great experiments. Very interesting. Thanks for sharing. Teresa

  9. May 2, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Your garden is lovely! Love the snap of your radishes!


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 138,598 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

