15
Mar
09

Beginnings of a square-foot garden patch

The weather has finally shown signs of warming up, and I have finally made a start on my square-foot garden patch. Here’s what the patch looks like:

Square-foot patch with walkway

I have managed to put in 7 x 7 squares into the patch with two walkways.

Already planted as seeds:

Potatoes: 1 per square x 8 squares

Komatsuna (Brassica rapa): 5 per square x 4 squares

Clover (flower): 6 per square x 1 square

Rape blossoms (flower):] 6 x 1 square

(all the above are on the extreme right of the photo above – planted on March 2, 2009)

Radish: 5 per square x 4 squares

Shungiku (edible crysanthemum): 5 per square x 4 squares

Carrot: (Probably) 6 per square x 4 squares

Primula (polyanthus): 2 per square x 1 square (one pink, one yellow)

Pot marigold: 2 per square x 1 square

(all the above are in the middle between the two walkways of the photo above: see enlarged photos of primula and pot marigold below – planted on March 9, 2009)

Primula

Primula (primrose) or Polyanthus

 

Pot marigold

Pot marigold

 

Planted as seedlings:

Red cabbage: 1 per square x 4 squares

Broccoli: 1 per square x 4 squares

Cabbage: 1 per square x 4 squares

Mizuna (potherb mustard): 2 per square x 4 squares

(the above can be seen on the extreme left – planted on March 16)

The last row of squares is yet free and I have plenty more to plant here!

Help! I need more land!

 

I was excited to see the first of the Komatsuna and radish shoots in my squares today. I was also happy to see my daughter Maya, lend a hand today with the planting of cabbage and brocolli plants and general digging and leveling of the soil.

Maya

My green peas and fava beans in planters on the balcony are doing well too, and I can see the green peas within the pods growing larger! The fava bean plants have plenty of flowers, but I have yet to see the beans. I’m hopeful of a good harvest around the end of April or beginning of May.

Fava beans in planters

Fava beans in planters

Green peas in planter

Green peas growing fast!

I also planted Hydrangea cuttings last week – they were hardwood cuttings and I’m hoping that roots will develop from these cuttings in a month’s time. Let’s see how it goes. Here are the cuttings and the hydrangea plant with new leaves just coming up.

 

Hydrangea cuttings

 Hydrangea

 

 

 

 

 

 

And to end this post, here is a photo of the two pot marigold and primrose plants in two squares.

 

CIMG0229

Pot marigolds and primroses

 

Happy gardening!

5 Responses to “Beginnings of a square-foot garden patch”


  1. 1 forsythkid
    March 21, 2009 at 4:27 am

    That is a very beautiful garden. I also like to work with garden using the square foot approach.

  2. 2 remora
    March 21, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    you are a lifesavior – at last, somebody kickstarts a Japan Blogsite about Gardening and Horticulture..instead of Politics,Anime and the rest of the usual Japanese Dross.

    I admire you Sir.

    remora

  3. 3 yuanhao
    March 21, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    Looking great, those peas really grow fast! I’m not good at planting stuff but I’m good at eating and preparing them ^^

    Also, I second remora, it’s quite refreshing to hear something different for a change

  4. March 22, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    @forsythkid: I like the concept. This is the first time I have tried it out. Will report on how effective it is in the subsequent weeks.
    @remora: Thankee, kind sir/madam. Japan has wonderful facilities even for a beginner to start growing veggies/flowers/fruits in planters. All you need is some sunlight, some water and some perseverance!
    @yuanhao: You should grow them too – the taste of freshly-picked green peas is just out of this world! Happy gardening!


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 135,826 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

