30
Aug
08

Farewell Hana-chan

During my one-month sojourn in the US, I lost my dog Hana-chan. When my wife wrote to me that Hana-chan had passed away peacefully, and was probably happily running around somewhere, I felt at first a heavy clamp on my heart and later a sense of relief because Hana-chan had become too old to stand on her feet and could not even get her jaws working to eat food. My wife had cared for her since the last six months, sleeping next to her, waking up in the middle of the night and tending to her, and feeding her day and night. Thanks to my wife, Hana-chan had a companion all the time till the end. Naturally, Hana-chan has found a permanent place in my heart as well as in my garden. Here’s a photo I took of her before I left for the US.

Hana-chan in peaceful slumber

 

Next, during my absence in Japan, my wife did water the plants and did the basic maintenance work. She reported that she had harvested plenty of tomatoes, green pepper and okura in my absence. Here are some photos of the harvest that she took with large and small tomatoes, okura and bell peppers:

Harvested end July

Eggplant

Here’s a snap of eggplants growing nice and healthy! This photo too was taken end July by my wife.

 

Tomatoes

Here’s one of juicy tomatoes! I love picking them, slicing them and eating them immediately with a dash of lemon juice and some fresh sea salt!

 

Veggie patch end July

This is how my veggie patch looked end July.

 

Now here are some more photos of daily harvests in mid August:

Daily harvest-01

 

And here’s another around the same time:

Daily harvest -02

 

I’m very pleased with the turn-out of Okura – they are delicious and have grown rapidly. The flower too is beautiful – here are some photos:

 

Okura flower 

Okuras in plenty 

Finally, I leave you with some beautiful flowers in bloom in my garden.

 

Flowers in full bloom

Have a great day and happy gardening!

2 Responses to “Farewell Hana-chan”


  1. September 13, 2008 at 6:44 am

    Oh my god, That’s so sad. I remember how terrible I felt when my childhood dog passed away. I didn’t have any siblings, so she was almost like a sister to me during the first fifteen years of my life. I was really sad when my dad called to tell me that she had passed away. She suffered from seizures during the last year of her life, some days she would be fine, but others were very difficult. My dad was about to take her to be “put to sleep.” She died in her bed the very morning he was going to take her to be put down. She was my favorite member of the family and I still think of her in a bittersweet sort of way.

  2. September 15, 2008 at 12:21 am

    I’m happy because Hana-chan lived a full life loved by all of us and passed away peacefully. I have a lot of happy memories with her and will cherish them always!


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 136,670 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

