19
Jul
08

The appearance of bitter gourd and okura – July 19 update

This week’s highlights are a plentiful harvest of green peppers and eggplants (brinjal), and the appearance of the first okura and bitter gourd. First, here’s an overall view of the veggie patch.

Veggie patch - overall view

I’m pleased with the growth of the eggplant and okura – last year, the okura plants were unsuccessful. The neem that I used to ward off pests also seems to have played its part. All plants are generally healthy, with leaves showing no sign of attack from pests.

 

Here is the first of the okuras – the yellow flower is bright and beautiful. Unfortunately, I’m leaving for the US for the month and won’t be able to taste my okuras this time :(.  Hoping they are still active when I return after a month.

Okuras coming up - yellow flower behind

 

Here’s an overall view of the patch along the wall.

Veggie patch along wall

In another fortnight, the bitter gourd and cucumber should cover the entire netting and provide a natural shade for a cool summer house within.

 

Here are the mini tomatoes slowly starting to ripen.

Mini tomatoes

 

Here are the green peppers – probably the best harvest among all the plants this year until now.

Green papers

 

The eggplants are doing great too, and have been harvesting some every day. Here is a snap of the eggplants.

CIMG0310

 

Finally, a snap of a welcome visitor to my garden and some flowers below.

Welcome visitor

CIMG0319

 

CIMG0320

Have a great week!

6 Responses to “The appearance of bitter gourd and okura – July 19 update”


  1. 1 Lzyjo
    July 20, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Looking Good! It is amazing how much you having growing in such a small space. I love the trellis. Hope you have a safe trip and everything keeps growing while you are away.

  2. July 23, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Thanks, Liz. Hopefully I should be able to harvest okura, bitter gourd and tomatoes.
    Gururaj from warm and sunny Detroit.

  3. August 24, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    How are things coming along now? My okra and tomatoes are finished.

  4. August 24, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    I just returned after a month in the USA. I have lots of photos from my niece’s garden in North Carolina and should also report excellent growth of okura, tomatoes, and eggplant in my absence. I hope to put up photos soon and also to look up your blog as soon as I get pending work finished. Have a great day!

  5. May 24, 2014 at 12:37 pm

    Hi! Just found your blog because we are going to try okura for the first time this year…the seedlings I bought are tiny, I think I should baby them in a pot for a while, and then plant them out with a stick to climb? I’m in Hokkaido, so we are well behind HOnshu etc. I have two tomatoes and a sad looking cucumber at the moment. And am trying a raspberry bush this year! Any okura tips?

    • June 13, 2014 at 3:20 am

      Hi, sorry for the delay. I wanted to write to you earlier, but the okura that I planted this time failed. The plants (5) did not grow at all, so I moved them to planter where three of them survived. In the meanwhile, I dug up the soil, mixed some more compost and then replanted the remaining okura plants. I will soon have a photo of them on the blog as they grow. In the meanwhile, all other plants – tomato, eggplant, cucumber, bell pepper and edamame are growing well. Take a look at my recent post with photos. Wishing you all the best with your Okura plants.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 138,598 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

