Archive for July 6th, 2014

06
Jul
14

continuing harvests and introducing a friend

In this post, I’ll continue with photos of my little home garden and also introduce some offerings of a good friend, Toyama-san. First, let us say it with flowers!

Rose of Sharon

Rose of Sharon

This is the first Rose of Sharon that has bloomed this year. I love the faint pink and splashes of red in this elegant flower.

Aster

Aster and Begonia

The Asters have bloomed next to the Begonias. I read somewhere that one could propagate Aster through root cuttings. I’ll probably try it soon after the flowers end.

I have already propagated Begonia and will  present some to friends introducing them to the world of flowers, fruits and vegetables!

Petunia

Petunia

I neglected to remove the stubs of Petunias after they faded and found some seeds in pods where the flowers were. I’m going to try raising new plants through these seeds.

In the meanwhile, here are some daily harvests – the fresh tomatoes are delicious!

Daily harvest Daily harvest
Daily harvest Daily harvest

Daily harvests of cucumber, tomatoes, green pepper and eggplant (brinjal)

Now let me introduce my good friend, Toyama-san. He has a large area of land in the same town where I live. He has also started growing vegetables and flowers in earnest – and I’m pleased to introduce some of his offerings here. The photos from here onward are from his field and have been taken by Toyama-san.

 

Toyama'san's garden

From Toyama-san’s garden: Green pepper, eggplant, tomato and cucumber plants

Bitter gourd and morning glory

Bitter gourd and morning glory

These plants rise up on the net and provide a “green cover.” Keeps the room behind the plants cool in the dry summer.

Cat's Tail

Cat’s tail in a planter

Cherries Hibiscus  

Left: Cherries; Right: Hibiscus plant (flowers yet to bloom)

Thanks, Toyama-san. Hope to receive such lovely photos from you in the future too.

Have a great day, and feel free to comment.




Pages

Blog Stats

  • 150,325 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
July 2014
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031