12
May
13

Memories of my Travel in India

I haven’t posted here since September last year – resuming after a hiatus of more than six months. During this period, I have traveled thrice to India from Japan making Bangalore my base. The photos in this blog mostly cover flowers I have grown at my apartment balcony in Bangalore, interspersed with photos during my trips to New Delhi, Kolkata and Mysore.

CIMG0084

Hibiscus

This is a standard feature in my balcony and blooms regularly in autumn. As of the time of this writing (May), new leaves are coming up but there are no flowers yet.

CIMG0245-1

Marigold

Had some excellent blooms of marigold in the balcony until a baby monkey climbed on to the ledge and ate up all the flowers! Must have found them delicious!

CIMG0081

Chrysanthemum

These flowers bloomed well while they lasted. I had to return to Japan for a month and when I returned, I was given to understand that the plant dried up and died.

CIMG0074

Brahma Kamala

I got hold of a single leaf, planted it deep in a pot with fresh soil and lo and behold! New leaves grew out of the existing leaf. The plant has grown to about 8 huge leaves as at the time of this writing – and I am eagerly awaiting the arrival of a huge flower that is said to bloom only at night time – the Brahma Kamala.

I switch over now to some flowering trees of Bangalore. I could not find many large trees full of flowers in Japan except maybe for cherry blossoms, but Bangalore has an assortment of trees yielding various kinds of flowers. Here are a few:

CIMG0027 CIMG0251-A

Flowering trees at street corners – Large red flowers dotting the entire tree on the left and lots of pink flowers on the right

During the flowering season, they bloom profusely and cover the street with a colorful carpet. Amazing sight when the leaves fall!

CIMG0258

Yellow in the park

The yellow flowers in the park where I walk briskly every morning were a feast for the eyes. Lucky I had a camera with me. I presume these are laburnum flowers but I’m not sure.

CIMG0256-1

Different view of three trees with the yellow flowers

This is another view of these yellow-flowered trees in the same park. A walk through the park with such sights is sheer pleasure!

I made a short two day-trip to Kolkata to attend a friend’s daughter’s wedding at a resort. The Dahlias and other flowers at the resort were a treat to watch.

CIMG0190

Close-up of a magnificent Dahlia

CIMG0194 

More Dahlias at the edge of the kerb

CIMG0192

Poppies, stocks and marigolds

CIMG0195

More Dahlias – a sight for sore eyes

During a holiday on an official visit to New Delhi, I visited Lodhi Park and saw some interesting sights.

CIMG0091 

Geese on the hunt for food

CIMG0094

Parrot perched on a stone wall

I visited Mysore, about four hours by car from Bangalore, and walked around a lovely lake admiring the sights, the flora and the fauna.

CIMG0204-1

Grey partridge? I’m not sure.

CIMG0209-1

Darter or snake bird?

CIMG0206-1

Egrets

CIMG0208-1

Painted storks

Finally, here are some jasmines from my balcony – they exude a sweet smell at night when the wind blows.

CIMG0261-1 CIMG0264-1 CIMG0265-1

Extreme left: A double jasmine – two flowers in well – with double the sweet aroma

Right: Pointed 8-petal jasmine

Until the next post, have a great day!

4 Responses to “Memories of my Travel in India”


  1. 1 farhana
    June 8, 2013 at 7:40 am

    The yellow flowers in the park are from the tabebuia argentea tree!!!

  2. 2 Jay Bhakta
    June 14, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Hi Guru, Really enjoyed the photos from your Bangalore flat and also Delhi. Though I am not a gardener myself, I can almost feel your passion. We have a few fig orchards where we live and as the cost of labour in Australia is too high for the owners to have them picked, customers have to pick the fruit themselves. I am thinking you like figs too and enjoyed the fruit shown in your pictures.
    Cheers.
    Jay

  3. September 19, 2013 at 10:49 am

    Liked your blog, loved the pics. I have started my own blog on Orissa, India. Please do visit and give your feedback.

  4. 4 tyanajones
    October 27, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    lovely pictures….


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 114,897 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Sep   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

