30
Sep
12

August blooms

I was home in Japan for about three months and spruced up my home garden. Since photos speak a thousand words, let me unfold the photos without much of text.

CIMG0140

Magnificent Rose of Sharon

CIMG0146

Pink and yellows – Soapwort and Chamomile

CIMG0153

White flowers of the Hosta

CIMG0152 CIMG0155

Stock (or is it Gladiolus) towering above the Hostas

CIMG0157

Morning Glories growing wild and surrounding the compost bin

CIMG0159

Close-up of Morning Glory

CIMG0151

Another view of the Rose of Sharon

CIMG0178

A slightly different variety of the Rose of Sharon

CIMG0201

Ginger Lily – Just started blooming as I left Japan for Bangalore

The sweet smell of this flower made me reluctant to leave home – the evening breeze would blow and disperse the aroma to the neighbors too!

 

CIMG0184

Indoor plants – overlooking my home garden outside

The nets outside the window hold bitter gourd, tomato and other creepers and give shade during the hot summer months.

CIMG0176

Colorful Lantana

CIMG0204

Blooms of Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow

These aromatic flowers are purple one day, turn to light blue the next day and become white on the third day. I propagated this plant last year from a cutting.

CIMG0203

Fig and mini tomato

While I no longer have an office garden where I used to grow all kinds of vegetables,  we have started a small vegetable and fruit garden at home. I was delighted with the first fig from a new plant (took about 2-3 years to bear fruit), and it was delicious. Other veggies that we harvested in August were green pepper, mini-tomatoes, eggplant and bitter gourd in small quantities.

 

Until the next post, have a great day!

10 Responses to “August blooms”


  1. October 2, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    What a pretty fig. The first fruits of the garden are so precious and so tasty. Wish you many fruits in your new fruit and vegetable garden.

    • October 2, 2012 at 7:56 pm

      Hi Anita, thanks for dropping by. By the way, your post on Coorg was very nice – brought back nostalgic memories of my visit there (to Orange County) many years ago. Are you still doing composting on the Kambha? I’m considering buying one for my apartment – any updates and suggestions gratefully received. Have a nice day!

  2. October 26, 2012 at 7:17 am

    Hi Gururaj ! Nice to visit your blog, it’s so exiting to see what you are growing almost on the other side of the globe. And still we have some plants in common : ) Wish you good gardening ! Nice to “meet” !

  3. October 27, 2012 at 5:53 am

    It’s so interesting to read a blog from such a different part of the world. Monkeys eating your plants? That is someting entirely new to me! Your Japanese garden is so beautiful – it must have been hard to leave it.

    • October 27, 2012 at 6:22 am

      Thank you Sarah, for your nice comment. Yes, monkeys do climb over wires to my balcony on the second storey and eat up buds and leaves that they find tasty! And yes, it is hard, but maybe in a few years I will return and start over afresh.

  4. November 12, 2012 at 11:10 am

    Thank you for visiting my blog … I have enjoyed reading yours. It is great to ‘meet’ new people from all over the world just at the switch of a button! Lovely Rose of Sharon.

  5. November 27, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    I love the ipomoeas, and your lilies and indoor plants have inspired me to make some changes in my garden ! I am an avid balcony gardener too!

  6. October 10, 2013 at 10:44 am

    hi, great going with the blog :) I am a new gardner and a new blogger myself. Check out my blog.

    http://seedgerminator.wordpress.com/2013/10/09/cabbage/

    Your feedback and suggestions will be appreciative.


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 115,790 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

