30
Nov
11

November flowers, new seedlings and new Delhi

A rather cryptic title – I’d like to show you all the flowers that bloomed in November, all the seedlings that sprouted and the trip to New Delhi at the end of November (hopefully after publishing this blog).

Here are the flowers that bloomed:

Dahlia

The splenderous white Dahlia

DSCF0474

The majestic rose

DSCF0488

Thriving abutilons

DSCF0490

Dahlia Imperialis – blooming 2 meters above the ground

DSCF0491

Colorul Lantana

DSCF0495

Another abutilon – small red and yellow lanterns

DSCF0497

Chrysanthemums in profusion

DSCF0499

Chrysanthemum of a different color in bloom

DSCF0479 DSCF0489

Kochia Scoparia – a bushy plant that changes color in autumn and resembles a broom in winter (called houkiso in Japanese)

 

Let us look at the winter vegetables now.

DSCF0503

My first square foot bed with four rows of eight plants

DSCF0505

My second square foot bed with 48 onion seedlings

Coriander, spinach and green peas

Third square foot bed with coriander, spinach and green peas

DSCF0508

Fourth square foot bed – cabbage, cauliflower and broccoli

That’s all I have for you in this post, folks, as I leave for New Delhi on official work! Until next time, happy gardening!

16 Responses to “November flowers, new seedlings and new Delhi”


  1. November 30, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    Your flowers are gorgeous. They’re all so healthy. Never seen anything like the Kochia Scoparia. I really like it. Wish you a fruitful trip to Delhi!

  2. December 1, 2011 at 4:02 am

    Thanks so much for our nice comments, Anita.

  3. December 2, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Everything seem to bloom marvelously!

  4. December 30, 2011 at 11:37 am

    That pink abutilon bush is so pretty! Best wishes for a wonderful 2012!

  5. January 11, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    the tall purple dahlia is so striking! I wish I could find some row cover like yours, it seems like it is reinforced, mine is not that strong and rips easily!

    • January 15, 2012 at 12:21 pm

      Hi Sissy, the dahlias grow at a height of nearly 2 m. Last year one of the plants broke in half because of the typhoon; I think I should use stronger posts to anchor them. The stalks are not very strong; I suggest that you support them using strong posts. They really look good when in bloom.

  6. January 12, 2012 at 4:06 am

    Such colorful flowers, your vegetable garden looked so healthy as well!

  7. January 23, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Hi, I liked ALL in your blog! Abutilon looks like I had in my home, your foot beds, vegetables.
    Thank for visiting my blog
    Nadezda

  8. February 14, 2012 at 4:47 am

    That Dahlia Imperialis is royal indeed!

  9. February 14, 2012 at 6:17 am

    Hello, I really like your blog! It is so interesting to see what vegetables you are growing. Your vegetable garden is very neat and beautiful – not like mine at all (I’m embarrassed to show it!). I see that you are growing fava beans. I love these as well – they are an unusual vegetable in America but very tasty. Happy gardening and please continue sharing your garden with us.

  10. February 14, 2012 at 7:24 am

    I enjoy your blog and have nominated it for the “Liebster blog” award. See my latest post (http://virtualvisitmygarden.blogspot.com/2012/02/liebster-blog-award.html) for details.

  11. March 22, 2012 at 8:33 am

    Hi, I just found your blog and I love it! I can’t wait to see what the new year will look like.
    -Susan


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 116,172 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

