28
Oct
11

goodbye to summer vegetables in my office garden

After my last visit to India in September, I experimented with seeds (purchased from India) in my office garden. The results were encouraging for some varieties of gourds.

DSCF0405

Bottle gourd

Successfully grown through seeds. I did not anticipate that the plant would travel all around my square foot plots clinging to every plant and support on its way!

 

DSCF0412

DSCF0410

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Left: Ridge gourd; Right: Yellow flowers of the ridge gourd

The ridge gourd plant produced abundant yellow flowers all through September/October and the yield was high especially where the plant had climbed on the fence and trellis!

These two vegetables will become a permanent feature next summer in my office garden.

 

DSCF0442

Ridge gourds and mini tomatoes

One of my Japanese friends, Utiyama-san, was happy with to make use of this vegetable after peeling off the skin and removing the seeds in miso soup! In my house, I was happy using these ridge gourds in sambar – my favorite South Indian dish.

In the meanwhile, a strong typhoon played havoc with my fence and flattened my vegetable plants.

DSCF0443

After the typhoon

DSCF0444

Restoration

The damage however, was not severe as none of the plants were uprooted. I restored the fence and the plants and it was back to business as usual. The dense growth on the left side at the front consist of edamame (soya beans). These plants produced beans right up to autumn when the temperatures started dropping; I had two harvests of edamame – one around July/August and one around October. Needless to say, the beans were delicious (we boiled them for about 2-3 minutes; sprinkled a bit of salt and consumed them a little everyday).

DSCF0445

Bitter gourd

We enjoyed a fairly good harvest of bitter gourds too – some turned out to be gigantic. See the ones on the left dwarfing the ridge gourd to the right.

DSCF0446

Harvest of green pepper, bitter gourd, beans, persimmon and edamame

I also hand an incessant supply of green peppers and bitter gourd (the only vegetables I planted in my home garden) throughout summer. The soil in my home garden seems more conducive to growing green pepper and chili rather than the soil in my office garden. The edamame on the right is the amount that I picked everyday for consumption. The taste drops exponentially if you don’t eat them right away!

DSCF0447

Dug up the beds and exposed them to the sun for several days

After the last harvest of edamame, I started preparing the soil for winter vegetables. I used some lime to offset the effects of acidity (from rain) and to retain a decent pH value. The yellow flowers of the ridge gourd can be seen in the photo above.

DSCF0451 DSCF0452

Compost and humus to enrich the soil

I used about 20 liters of compost and humus to enrich the soil in each bed, and mixed them up thoroughly digging down to about 40 cm.

DSCF0453

Beds mixed, leveled and ready for receiving seeds and saplings of winter vegetables

I am rather pleased with the soil preparation this time – more compost and less fertilizer should give me healthy organic vegetables this spring.

DSCF0466 DSCF0467

Left: Bed with black sheet (to retain heat and moisture in soil in the cold winter)

Right: Planted cauliflower, cabbage, stick broccoli and broccoli (8 each in one row)

DSCF0468

Under the tunnels

Erected tunnels over the cauliflower, cabbage and broccoli plants to ward off insects and worms.

The plan for the winter is:

1) one plot for cauliflower, cabbage, broccoli

2) One plot for spinach, green peas, and two local varieties of peas

3) One plot complete for growing four rows (8 in a row) of onions

4) One plot for fava beans, coriander, radish and spinach.

 

I end this post with a magnificent flower  I picked up by the side of my office plot:

DSCF0465-a

Until the next post, happy gardening!

6 Responses to “goodbye to summer vegetables in my office garden”


  1. November 2, 2011 at 8:08 am

    wow, your vegetables look amazing! you sure have a green thumb :-) I manage to grow tomatoes, bell peppers and chili peppers, but I usually am too late to harvest (the critters get to them before I do)
    Love your flower pictures!!

    Evelyn
    (via blotanical)

  2. November 2, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    Thanks, Evelyn. I’m lucky – except for worms underground, I haven’t had any attacks by critters. My fencing keeps off cats and other animals. Good luck with your veggies.

  3. November 3, 2011 at 3:00 am

    Your sambar sounds yummy. Your garden looks beautiful even after the storm.

  4. November 3, 2011 at 5:23 am

    I can see your hard work paid off upon seeing your harvested vegetables! I love eating vegetables! Keep it up!

  5. 5 KL
    January 4, 2012 at 3:29 am

    How is the weather in that part of Japan? It surely must be very cold. So, how come all those flowers are blooming and growing all these summer loving vegetables? Wow! very impressive.

  6. February 16, 2012 at 7:38 am

    I just stumbled on to your blog. I will be writing a post shortly on the Japanese Garden I visited. Took lots of photos of the lanterns. Really love that form. You might like. Enjoyed my visit, and will return. I always like to see gardening in other places. I learn form all you gardeners. Here on the shore of Lake Michigan ittoo is beautiful and I have developed an Asian Garden Pation which isin photos at times. Enjoy. Jack


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 116,143 hits

Weather for Kisarazu City, Japan

Click for Kisarazu Air Base, Japan Forecast

Stat Counter

wordpress visitor
counter
My BlogCatalog BlogRank

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

